People getting arrested

Five Things To Know If You Have Been Arrested For Theft: How A Lawyer Can Help

If you have been arrested for theft in the state of Pennsylvania, you need help, and the attorneys at The Igwe Firm can help. There are many different types of theft, and different states and jurisdictions define theft in different ways, but in all cases if the police have arrested you and charged you with taking something that was not yours, then you need the help of an experienced lawyer to clear your name. The consequences of being found guilty of theft depend largely upon the value of the item that was stolen, as well as on whether you have previously been convicted of a similar crime, but no matter how small or seemingly insignificant, or for whatever reason a crime may have been committed, a conviction can result in jail time, a criminal record, having to pay fines, and more. Call The Igwe Firm at your first opportunity for help preparing a defense designed to prove your innocence or minimize the impact of the charges.

In Pennsylvania, theft charges can mean many things and can take many forms. Here are five things you should know if you’ve been arrested for theft:

  1. If you have been charged with theft, it means that the police believe that you have stolen from another person rather than from a business or a store.
  2. You can be charged with theft of property from another person even if you did not set out to take something away from them. If a person loses an item and you find it , or if it falls into your possession by mistake and you don’t take reasonable action to return it to the rightful owner, then you can still be charged with theft.
  3. Theft can include failing to make payments on an item that you are contractually obligated to make payments on.
  4. In the state of Pennsylvania, the severity of a theft charge is dependent upon the value of the item that was stolen. If an item’s value is less than $50, then the theft is considered a misdemeanor of the third degree, where if it is valued at between $200 and $2000 it is still a misdemeanor, but of the first degree. Once an item’s value climbs above $2,000, the theft is considered a felony.
  5. In all cases, if you have been accused of a theft, it is important that you behave in a respectful manner to the police and do not speak to anybody about the charges against you. Instead, tell the authorities that you want to speak to an attorney, and contact an attorney at the earliest time possible.

As experienced criminal defense attorneys, the professionals at The Igwe Firm will meet with you as quickly as possible, asking you for details about your situation and answering all of your questions in order to be sure that we have a good understanding of your case. We will look closely at all of the evidence against you in order to be sure that your rights have not been violated and that you get a defense designed to provide you with the best possible outcome.